Leah Hechtman | Healthy Seminars

Leah Hechtman

The Reproductive Microbiome

NCCAOM Details
553-586
Send Updated NCCAOM Certificate
Send NCCAOM Certificate
12/13/2019 to 12/13/2020
$100.00
Price: $100.00
Live Event
02/29/2020 - 12:00 to 16:00
Pacific Standard Time PST/PDT (Vancouver BC, Los Angeles CA)
Live Online Webinar

Even if you cannot make the scheduled time for the live webinar, you will still be able to watch the recordings. Video recordings of the live webinar are placed into your account within 48 hours of the class, so the course will be waiting for you to watch when you are ready.

Live webinars fulfil all 50 hours of live CEUs for California. You have 2 years access to the recording to complete for CEU/PDA.
 

Live Webinar: 12:00 pm PDT, Saturday, February 29, 2020.

START TIME FOR DIFFERENT TIME ZONES:

  • Honolulu, HI, USA HST (UTC -10) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • Denver, CO, USA MST (UTC -7) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  • Houston, TX, USA CST (UTC -6) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  • New York, NY, USA EST (UTC -5) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 3:00 pm - 7:00 pm
  • London, United Kingdom GMT (UTC +0) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 8:00 pm - 12:00 am
  • Tel Aviv, Israel IST (UTC +3) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 10:00 pm - 2:00 am
  • Sydney, Australia AEDT (UTC +11) Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 7:00 am - 11:00 am
  • Auckland, New Zealand NZDT (UTC +13) Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Content included with this product.
ItemDetailsAvailableDuration
The Reproductive Microbiomeimmediately after purchaseuntil 02/28/2022 - 23:59
California
Category 1
Presenter: 
Pending: 

From the initial conception and the role the seminal microbiome has to the microbial status in utero, research is now helping us to understand the intricacies and interconnectedness of everyone involved. As we evolve our understanding, we can learn strategies to optimise microbial balance and thus improve the health of the next generation.

Course Outline:

  • Participants will understand the importance and balance of the various microbiomes within the male and female body
  • Participants will understand strategies to optimise microbiome health to ensure the health and wellbeing of the fetus (infant)
  • Participants will understand the impact of bacteria and other microbes and the importance of supporting healthy commensals and treating opportunistic infections
  • Participants will understand the health implications of vaginal vs caesarean deliveries
  • Participants will learn useful clinical treatment strategies to improve the health of both parents, improve pregnancy and labour outcomes, and the health of the child

 

Detailed Content:

The microbiome in reproduction

Infections

Seminal microbiome

Maternal microbiomes

  • Vaginal microbiome
  • Cervical microbiome
  • Uterine microbiome
    • Pre-term birth prevention and inventions
  • Pregnancy microbiome
    • Oral microbiome
  • Placental microbiome

Fetal and neonatal microbiome

  • Amniotic fluid microbiome
  • Respiratory microbiome
  • Developmental impact – ASD, obesity and others
  • Gastrointestinal microbiome

Labour

  • Vaginal vs cesarean
  • Vernix caseosa

Treatment options

  • Modifying microbiome strategies and treatment options
  • Maternal prenatal stress

Summary, Q&A

D7 Presenter: 
Leah Hechtman

Leah Hechtman

Image of Leah Hechtman
Leah Hechtman

Leah is an experienced and respected clinician and has been in private practice for over 20 years. She specialises in fertility, pregnancy and reproductive medicine and holds fellowships and memberships with many International organisations.

She has completed extensive advanced training and is currently completing her PhD through the School of Women’s and Children’s Health (Faculty of Medicine [UNSW]). Her research is exploring ovarian biomarkers in women with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) and Premature Ovarian Failure (POF).