An Exploration of Ancient Consciousness and Ritualism to Help Deepen Your Practice | Healthy Seminars

An Exploration of Ancient Consciousness and Ritualism to Help Deepen Your Practice

Home > Product > An Exploration of Ancient Consciousness and Ritualism to Help Deepen Your Practice

An Exploration of Ancient Consciousness and Ritualism to Help Deepen Your Practice

Speaker: 

products tabs

Live Online Webinar
Saturday February 1, 2020 9:00 am to 12:00 pm PST
Add to Calendar
Pacific Standard Time PST/PDT (Vancouver BC, Los Angeles CA)

Even if you cannot make the scheduled time for the live webinar, you will still be able to watch the recordings. Video recordings of the live webinar are placed into your account within 48 hours of the class, so the course will be waiting for you to watch when you are ready.

Live webinars fulfil all 50 hours of live CEUs for California. You have 2 years access to the recording to complete for CEU/PDA.

 

Live Webinar: 9:00 am PDT, Saturday, February 1, 2020.
START TIME FOR DIFFERENT TIME ZONES:
  • Honolulu, HI, USA HST (UTC -10) Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 7:00 am - 10:00 am
  • Denver, CO, USA MST (UTC -7) Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • Houston, TX, USA CST (UTC -6) Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • New York, NY, USA EST (UTC -5) Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 12:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • London, United Kingdom GMT (UTC +0) Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  • Tel Aviv, Israel IST (UTC +3) Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • Sydney, Australia AEDT (UTC +11) Sun, Feb 2, 2020, 4:00 am - 7:00 am
  • Auckland, New Zealand NZDT (UTC +13) Sun, Feb 2, 2020, 6:00 am - 9:00 am

This webinar discusses important facets of the Mawangdui find, its societal context, and the formulas, strategies and treatment protocols outlined in the medical texts…all of which provide insight and guidance for our modern-day practices.

In 1973 three ancient tombs sealed in 168 BC were discovered in China. The importance of the documents found in these tombs has been compared to the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls.

Among the many riches discovered were fifteen previously unknown medical texts that scholars date as early as 300 BC. These medical writings long precede the well-known Huangdi Neijing, our Chinese medicine classic, compiled during the 1st Century BC.

 

What You Will Learn:

  • What the Mawangdui medical texts are, what they contain, and the historical context in which they were written
  • The types of consciousness (magical/mythical) that drove their creation
  • Why the Mawangdui tombs and the medicine texts found in them are important to us today as practitioners
  • Key insights that the tombs and their contents offer our modern practices…in terms of ‘what’ ancient healers did, as well as ‘how’ they approached life, health and treatment

Detailed Content:
Overview: Ancient Mawangdui Tombs
States of Consciousness to Better Understand the Times of the Ancient World
Medical Texts found in the Mawangdui Tombs and their Contents
Learning from the Tombs and Their Texts

  • The energetics of ancient places / exercise example
  • The roots of Chinese Medicine (pre-Huangdi Neijing)
  • Key treatment themes from the texts (e.g., ritual, incantation, de-possession, “nurturing life,” etc.)

Applications and Examples of Mawangdui Themes for Modern Practices
Summary, Questions & Answers

Catalog: 
NCCAOM AOM-OM: 
3.00
Texas General Acupuncture: 
3.00
Massachusetts Core Knowledge: 
3.00
Florida General: 
3.00
California Category : 
Category 1

Jessie Shaw, L.Ac. M.S. O.M. is an acupuncturist and herbalist in New York City. Raised in Colorado, she studied music performance in college and graduate school before moving to NYC. She ultimately became an advertising executive and obtained an MBA from NYU. Jessie began practicing acupuncture in 2002 after receiving a M.S. in Oriental Medicine. She recently released a documentary-style film called The I Ching, Ancient Consciousness and the Creation of Chinese Medicine that examines the role of magical and mythical consciousness in the formation of this ancient medicine. She has also published a book about magical consciousness based on more than ten years of studying Peruvian shamanism.



$75.00 USD

Frequently Bought Together