Get Out! Understanding Proper Estrogen Detoxification through Phases 1, 2 and 3 to Reduce Risk | Healthy Seminars

Get Out! Understanding Proper Estrogen Detoxification through Phases 1, 2 and 3 to Reduce Risk

Home > Product > Get Out! Understanding Proper Estrogen Detoxification through Phases 1, 2 and 3 to Reduce Risk

Get Out! Understanding Proper Estrogen Detoxification through Phases 1, 2 and 3 to Reduce Risk

Speaker: 

products tabs

Live Online Webinar
Sunday March 8, 2020 10:00 am to 1:00 pm PDT
Add to Calendar
Pacific Standard Time PST/PDT (Vancouver BC, Los Angeles CA)

Dr Carrie Jones is also presenting at the Integrative Fertility Symposium April 16-19, 2020. If you have an interest in reproductive health then please visit the Integrative Fertility Symposium site and register for IFS2020.


Early-bird price $50 until February 29th 2020. Regular rate $75.


Even if you cannot make the scheduled time for the live webinar, you will still be able to watch the recordings. Video recordings of the live webinar are placed into your account within 48 hours of the class, so the course will be waiting for you to watch when you are ready.

Live webinars fulfil all 50 hours of live CEUs for California. You have 2 years access to the recording to complete for CEU/PDA.

 

Live Webinar: 10:00 am PDT, Sunday, March 8th, 2020.
START TIME FOR DIFFERENT TIME ZONES:
  • Honolulu, HI, USA HST (UTC -10) Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 7:00 am - 10:00 am
  • Denver, CO, USA MST (UTC -7) Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • Houston, TX, USA CST (UTC -6) Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • New York, NY, USA EST (UTC -5) Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • London, United Kingdom GMT (UTC +0) Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  • Tel Aviv, Israel IST (UTC +3) Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • Sydney, Australia AEDT (UTC +11) Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 4:00 am - 7:00 am
  • Auckland, New Zealand NZDT (UTC +13) Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 6:00 am - 9:00 am
Estrogen detoxification is taught as phase 1, 2 and 3 but should be addressed in the reverse order. Phases 1 and 2 occur in the liver and are known as estrogen metabolism. Once water soluble, estrogen must leave the cell and enter phase 3 detoxification. A healthy metabolism shunts estrogen into 2-OH and then through methylation via COMT into 2-methoxy for proper disposal from the body. Unfortunately, if the pathway turns towards the more carcinogenic 4-OH or does not go through methylation, those estrogens go on to form a quinone that can result in DNA damage and increased cancer risk through unstable adduct formation. Certain enzymes, such as Quinone Reductase and Glutathione-S-Transferase, help prevent or reverse quinone formation and can be optimized with specific evidence based dietary changes and natural products. The ability to get from inside the cell out into the blood or bile into phase 3 is sometimes known colloquially as phase “2.5.” This phase can be hindered by inflammation but upregulated with Nrf2 activation. Lastly, it important to evaluate the gut as the microbiome has a huge influence on glucuronidation via b-glucuronidase and the resulting clearance or reactivation of estrogen into the system (known as phase 3). The purpose of this lecture is to help estrogen GET OUT and review estrogen metabolism from start to finish, including the genetics involved, the microbiome’s influence and discuss various treatment options to improve both phase 1, 2 and 3 detox to help reduce estrogen dominance and estrogen-based cancer risk in both men and women. Case examples will be included.

• Understand how estrogen (endogenous or exogenous) moves through phase 1, 2 and 3 detoxification
• Review the genetic snps and enzymes involved in each phase in order to optimize clearance and reduce risks/symptoms
• Discuss the microbiome and estrobolome and its influence on estrogen clearance
• Discuss food sources and natural treatments that have been shown in the literature to improve estrogen metabolism outcomes through the different phases.

Catalog: 
Pending: 
NCCAOM AOM-BIO: 
3.00
Texas Biomedicine: 
3.00
Massachusetts Core Knowledge: 
3.00
California Category : 
Category 1
Dr. Carrie Jones is an internationally recognized speaker, consultant, and educator on the topic of women’s health and hormones. She graduated from the National University of Natural Medicine (NUNM), School of Naturopathic Medicine in Portland, Oregon where she also completed her 2-year residency in women’s health, hormones and endocrinology. Later she graduated from Grand Canyon University’s Master of Public Health program with a goal of doing more international education. She was adjunct faculty for many years at NUNM teaching gynecology and advanced endocrinology/fertility and has been the Medical Director for 2 large integrative clinics in Portland. She is the Medical Director for Precision Analytical, Inc, creators of the DUTCH hormone test.


$50.00 USD