Practitioner Self-Care: Caring for the Body, the Instincts, and the Yin Lower Souls | Healthy Seminars

Practitioner Self-Care: Caring for the Body, the Instincts, and the Yin Lower Souls

Home > Product > Practitioner Self-Care: Caring for the Body, the Instincts, and the Yin Lower Souls

Practitioner Self-Care: Caring for the Body, the Instincts, and the Yin Lower Souls

Speaker: 

products tabs

Live Online Webinar
Saturday April 18, 2020 8:00 am to 11:30 am PDT
Add to Calendar
Pacific Standard Time PST/PDT (Vancouver BC, Los Angeles CA)

This webinar is streaming live from the IFS in Vancouver BC. If you have an interest in reproductive health then please visit the Integrative Fertility Symposium site and register for IFS2020. You can attend this lecture in person there too.


Even if you cannot make the scheduled time for the live webinar, you will still be able to watch the recordings. Video recordings of the live webinar are placed into your account within 48 hours of the class, so the course will be waiting for you to watch when you are ready.

Live webinars fulfil all 50 hours of live CEUs for California. You have 2 years access to the recording to complete for CEU/PDA.

 

Live Webinar: 8:00 am PDT, Saturday, April 18, 2020.
START TIME FOR DIFFERENT TIME ZONES:
  • Honolulu, HI, USA HST (UTC -10) Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 5:00 am - 8:30 am
  • Denver, CO, USA MST (UTC -7) Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 9:00 am - 12:30 pm
  • Houston, TX, USA CST (UTC -6) Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 10:00 am - 1:30 pm
  • New York, NY, USA EST (UTC -5) Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
  • London, United Kingdom GMT (UTC +0) Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
  • Tel Aviv, Israel IST (UTC +3) Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
  • Sydney, Australia AEDT (UTC +11) Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 1:00 am - 4:30 am
  • Auckland, New Zealand NZDT (UTC +13) Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 3:00 am - 6:30 am
The po–the corporeal soul and spirit of the Metal Element – is the least understood of the five spirits, and yet it may well be the most important for healing and transformation at this time on the planet. In addition, the po soul and its accompanying lower soul, the zhi – the ancestral will and spirit of the Water Element – are often misunderstood and neglected in modern acupuncture practice. The focus of this talk will be on the po and the zhi and their relationship to practitioner self-care and health. We will look at how neglecting the needs of these lower yin souls can result in self-sabotage, self-deprivation, addiction and the unconscious repetition of inherited response patterns. Conversely, we will discuss how attending to this aspect of our being opens us to a boundless source of wisdom and power, and ultimately allows us to manifest more fully our work as healers. Drawing from personal and clinical experience, ancient Chinese texts and modern research in epigenetics as well as the wisdom of ancient alchemy, we will explore how we can transform the “lead” or unconscious expression of the lower spirits into the “gold” of self-awareness, vitality and self-empowerment. You will receive concepts, tools and practices that can be used for your own self-care and offered to your patients before, during and after pregnancy.

Goals and Objectives

By the end of the seminar, participants will have:

  1. an understanding of the significance of the lower spirits in practitioner self-care,
  2. an understanding of the relationship of the lower souls to self-sabotage, addiction and other self-limiting choices and behaviors,
  3. an ability to recognize symptoms related to inherited trauma and behavior patterns,
  4. an introduction to basic skills and tools for working with the po and the zhi and potentially interrupting the transmission of self-destructive unconscious patterns, and
  5. a set of tools and practices to begin shifting patterns in their own self-care that can also be offered to patients.

Course Outline

  • Introduction to the Seven Po and their functions from ancient and modern perspective (lecture)
  • Techniques for self and patient care (lecture)
  • Meditation and qigong practices (group participation)
  • Summary, Q & A (group discussion)

Lorie Eve Dechar's intuitive work as an alchemical healer, mentor and teacher is supported by a strong foundation of theoretical understanding and clinical experience, including twenty-six years of Chinese medical practice, twelve years as a senior faculty member at the Tri-State College of Acupuncture in New York City as well as years of teaching at institutes and retreat centers throughout the United States, Canada and the U.K. Lorie is the author of Five Spirits: Alchemical Acupuncture for Psychological and Spiritual Healing. She holds a Master's Degree in Acupuncture from the Traditional Acupuncture Institute in Columbia, MD, 1985. Lorie has trained in Jungian and Gestalt psychotherapy, is a certified Focusing-oriented psychotherapist, and has become recognized as a modern interpreter of classical Taoist practice. www.fivespirits.com and www.anewpossibility.com



$75.00 USD