The Reproductive Microbiome | Healthy Seminars

The Reproductive Microbiome

Home > Product > The Reproductive Microbiome

The Reproductive Microbiome

Speaker: 

products tabs

Live Online Webinar
Saturday February 29, 2020 12:00 pm to 4:00 pm PST
Add to Calendar
Pacific Standard Time PST/PDT (Vancouver BC, Los Angeles CA)

This webinar is streaming live from the IFS in Vancouver BC. If you have an interest in reproductive health then please visit the Integrative Fertility Symposium site and register for IFS2020. You can attend this lecture in person there too.

Even if you cannot make the scheduled time for the live webinar, you will still be able to watch the recordings. Video recordings of the live webinar are placed into your account within 48 hours of the class, so the course will be waiting for you to watch when you are ready.

Live webinars fulfil all 50 hours of live CEUs for California. You have 2 years access to the recording to complete for CEU/PDA.
 

Live Webinar: 12:00 pm PDT, Saturday, February 29, 2020.

START TIME FOR DIFFERENT TIME ZONES:

  • Honolulu, HI, USA HST (UTC -10) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • Denver, CO, USA MST (UTC -7) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  • Houston, TX, USA CST (UTC -6) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  • New York, NY, USA EST (UTC -5) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 3:00 pm - 7:00 pm
  • London, United Kingdom GMT (UTC +0) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 8:00 pm - 12:00 am
  • Tel Aviv, Israel IST (UTC +3) Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 10:00 pm - 2:00 am
  • Sydney, Australia AEDT (UTC +11) Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 7:00 am - 11:00 am
  • Auckland, New Zealand NZDT (UTC +13) Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

From the initial conception and the role the seminal microbiome has to the microbial status in utero, research is now helping us to understand the intricacies and interconnectedness of everyone involved. As we evolve our understanding, we can learn strategies to optimise microbial balance and thus improve the health of the next generation.

The human body contains trillions of microorganisms — outnumbering human cells by 10 to 1. Because of their small size, however, microorganisms make up only about 1-3% of the body's mass (in a 200-pound adult, that's 2 to 6 pounds of bacteria), but play a vital role in human health.

Our understanding of the microbiomes within the human body is rapidly evolving. We now understand the potential influence we can impart to our children and evidence is mounting that the microbiome health of the mother directly influences the fetus (and child) irrespective of the birth delivery.

Careful supportive strategies can markedly improve fertility, conception and implantation rates as well as ensure a healthy pregnancy for all involved and optimise the health of the next generation. More than ever before, the health of the reproductive microbiome is a platform with which to base all fertility treatment as without its stability and health the fertility potential of our patients is lost.

Course Outline:

  • Participants will understand the importance and balance of the various microbiomes within the male and female body
  • Participants will understand strategies to optimise microbiome health to ensure the health and wellbeing of the fetus (infant)
  • Participants will understand the impact of bacteria and other microbes and the importance of supporting healthy commensals and treating opportunistic infections
  • Participants will understand the health implications of vaginal vs caesarean deliveries
  • Participants will learn useful clinical treatment strategies to improve the health of both parents, improve pregnancy and labour outcomes, and the health of the child

 

Detailed Content:

The microbiome in reproduction

Infections

Seminal microbiome

Maternal microbiomes

  • Vaginal microbiome
  • Cervical microbiome
  • Uterine microbiome
    • Pre-term birth prevention and inventions
  • Pregnancy microbiome
    • Oral microbiome
  • Placental microbiome

Fetal and neonatal microbiome

  • Amniotic fluid microbiome
  • Respiratory microbiome
  • Developmental impact – ASD, obesity and others
  • Gastrointestinal microbiome

Labour

  • Vaginal vs cesarean
  • Vernix caseosa

Treatment options

  • Modifying microbiome strategies and treatment options
  • Maternal prenatal stress

Summary, Q&A

Catalog: 
Pending: 
NCCAOM AOM-BIO: 
4.00
Texas Biomedicine: 
4.00
Massachusetts Core Knowledge: 
4.00
Florida Biomedicine: 
4.00
California Category : 
Category 1

Leah is an experienced and respected clinician and has been in private practice for over 20 years. She specialises in fertility, pregnancy and reproductive medicine and holds fellowships and memberships with many International organisations.

She has completed extensive advanced training and is currently completing her PhD through the School of Women’s and Children’s Health (Faculty of Medicine [UNSW]). Her research is exploring ovarian biomarkers in women with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) and Premature Ovarian Failure (POF).

Leah is the Director of The Natural Health and Fertility Centre, in Sydney Australia. Over the years she has helped thousands of couples conceive healthy, vibrant children often in situations where they were told there was no hope left.

She is a keynote speaker at conferences locally and internationally to both the functional and complementary medicine communities as well as the wider fertility and gynaecological areas of medicine. She is the author of multiple seminal naturopathic textbooks and is a contributor to journals and other texts within the Naturopathic and Functional Medicine areas as well as general gynaecology, fertility and infertility.

Most importantly, she is a mother to two gorgeous boys who keep her grounded, humbled and consciously aware.



$99.99 USD

Frequently Bought Together